The Shiyanbola Research Group values having a variety of backgrounds and experiences in our lab. We believe diversity is a strength and leads to greater ideas and superior outcomes. We work closely together and take pride in each other’s accomplishments.

headshot of Olayinka Shiyanbola

Olayinka O. Shiyanbola, PhD, BPharm

Associate Professor, Social and Administrative Sciences Division
Director of Graduate Studies, Health Services Research in Pharmacy
Associate Director, Collaborative Center for Health Equity
Director, Success Together Reaching Independence, Diversity, and Empowerment (STRIDE)
PhD 2009 Pharm Socioeconomics - University of Iowa
BPharm 2002 Pharmacy - University of Ibaden, Nigeria

Dr. Olayinka Shiyanbola is Associate Professor in the Division of Social and Administrative Sciences at the University of Wisconsin–Madison School of Pharmacy with over 14 years of experience and over $5 million in research grants as PI. She is the Director of the Health Services Research in Pharmacy Program, and the Director of the WPP-Funded Success Together Reaching Independence, Diversity, and Empowerment Program, a mentored career development program designed for early career faculty from groups underrepresented in the translational research workforce.

She was a NIMHD Research Institute Scholar, NHLBI/OBSSR Randomized Behavioral Trials Fellow, NIH Mixed Methods Research Training Program Scholar, and Society of Behavioral Medicine Leadership Fellow. Dr. Shiyanbola currently serves as a member of the National Academies of Science, Engineering, and Medicine Roundtable on Health Literacy, and co-chair of the Society of Behavioral Medicine Health Equity SIG Awards Committee. She serves on the editorial board for Research in Social and Administrative Pharmacy.

Her work has received numerous awards and recognition at national and international scientific conferences, and she has authored over 75 publications.

Research Staff

Tina Kansariwala

Research Specialist-Madison
Bachelors of Science in Global Health with an emphasis in Public Health and Policy and a minor in Entrepreneurship through the Wisconsin School of Business

Martha Maurer, MSSW, MPH, PhD

Scientist II
PhD in Social Welfare, University of Wisconsin School of Social Work
MPH, University of Wisconsin

Delicia Morris

Research Specialist-Milwaukee
Bachelor's degree, Communications

Sharon D. Williams, BS

Senior Research Specialist

Dale Wilson

Research Program Manager

PhD Students in the HSRP Program

Annika L. Pickard

PhD Student
Bachelor of Liberal Arts and Sciences, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Meng-Jung Wen, MS, BPharm

PhD Student, HSRP Program
Bachelor of Pharmacy, Chia Nan University, Taiwan
Master's degree in Clinical Pharmacy, Taipei Medical University, Taiwan

Doctor of Pharmacy and Undergraduate Students

Jacob Deheck

Pharm.D. Student (Class of 2025)

Makenzie Hansen

Pharm.D. Student (Class of 2026)

Jenna Nordin

PharmD Candidate (Class of 2024)

Lorraine Onchiri

Pharm.D. Student (Class of 2025)

Tegan Quinn

Pharm.D. Student (Class of 2025)

Sierra Szymanski

Pharm.D. Student (Class of 2025)

Choua Yang

Pharm.D. Student (Class of 2025)