Joseph B. Wiederholt, PhD, RPh

Joseph Wiederholt


With School of Pharmacy Dean “Gus” Lemberger and William Young, Professor Emeritus of Political Science, Dr. Wiederholt worked with the Rennebohm Foundation to give birth to the Sonderegger Research Center for Improved Medication Outcomes in 1985.  He was a driving force behind the SRC from its inception until his death in May 2001.  His positive outlook and selfless contributions to faculty colleagues, graduate students, and research at the SRC are a continuing inspiration.



Dr. “Joe” Wiederholt (Professor) received his BS degree in pharmacy from Creighton University and his MS and PhD degrees in pharmacy administration from the University of Georgia-Athens. He was a licensed pharmacist in Wisconsin and Nebraska. He also practiced in community and hospital pharmacy in Texas and Georgia. Before joining the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Pharmacy in 1981, Dr. Wiederholt taught at Creighton University and at the United States Army’s Academy of Health Sciences, Fort Sam, in Houston Texas, with an adjunct faculty appointment at Baylor University. He earned the rank of Captain in the U.S. Army Medical Service Corps. He received the Rufus A. Lyman Award for the best paper published in the American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education, Teacher of the Year, and Teaching Excellence honors from the University of Wisconsin School of Pharmacy. He was named APRS Fellow and was awarded the Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award from the AACP and the President’s Award from Creighton University.

Dr. Wiederholt published widely in numerous national pharmacy reviews and sat on a number of professional and governmental advisory boards and committees at state and federal levels. He taught courses in pharmacy management, pharmacy law, pharmaceutical marketing, and pharmaceutical marketing research at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Dr. Wiederholt’s primary research interests were the investigation of consumer attitudes, behaviors, and environments regarding purchase decisions for prescription and nonprescription drugs and services.