Skip to main content
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Pharm-Tox students earn fellowships

Three Pharmacology-Toxicology undergraduates earned Hilldale Undergraduate/Faculty Research Fellowships and an additional Pharm-Tox student was recognized with a Holstrom Environmental Scholarship for 2015-16. These fellowships support undergraduate research done in collaboration with UW-Madison faculty or research/instructional academic staff. Approximately 105 Hilldale and five Holstrom Awards are available each year. The student researcher receives $3000 and the faculty/staff research advisor receives $500 to help offset research costs (e.g. supplies, faculty or student travel related to the project). Pharm-Tox student Hilldale recipients noting hometown, research proposal titles, and faculty advisers are as follows:

  • Aisha Ba, Minneapolis, Minn., “Climate and tree-productivity effects on soil microbial communities in early successional postfire lodgepole pine forests of Yellowstone National Park”, mentored by Monica Turner, professor, Department of Zoology.
  • Anna Kellner, Madison, Wis., “Designing and testing biomaterials that regulate transforming growth factor-Beta 1”, mentored by William Murphy, professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering and the Bioinspired Materials Laboratory.
  • Max Wrobbel, Brookfield, Wis., “Effects of triploidy and drought on physiology and growth of Populus tremuloides”; Wrobbel’s faculty mentor is Professor Richard Lindroth, Department of Entomology.

The Holstrom winner was Morgan Walcheck, Appleton, Wis., for the research titled “Effects of 2,4-Dichlorophenoxyacetic acid (2,4-D) exposure on hormone concentrations of larvae fathead minnows (Pimephales promelas)”, and is mentored by William Karasov, professor and chair, Department of Forest & Wildlife Ecology.