2015 UW Honorary Citiation Report – Matthews

Hewitt W. "Ted" Matthews (left) with Dean Steve Swanson (right)

Hewitt W. “Ted” Matthews (left) with Dean Steve Swanson (right)


Hewitt W. “Ted” Matthews is Dean of the Mercer University College of Pharmacy in Atlanta, Georgia and the Hood-Meyer Professor of Pharmacy Distinguished Chair. With more than 25 years of service, Matthews is one of the longest serving deans at the same pharmacy school in the nation. Through his leadership, the pharmacy program has gone from being unranked to being ranked the fourth best private pharmacy school in the nation by U.S. News and World Report. In 2012 Dr. Matthews was named Senior Vice President for Health Sciences, overseeing the Mercer University Health Sciences Center where he directs the cooperative initiatives among the University’s health sciences schools and colleges, which include the school of medicine, college of pharmacy, school of nursing, and the college of health professions (composed of physical therapy, physician assistant, and public health programs).

Dr. Matthews was awarded the 2012 American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists Outstanding Dean Award. He has received a number of teaching awards including the Outstanding Teacher Award from the Mercer University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences and the V. Carlton Henderson Award from College’s Alumni Association in recognition of outstanding personal and professional achievements that have added distinction to the practice of pharmacy. In addition, Dr. Matthews has been recognized with the Dean’s Award from the American College of Apothecaries for outstanding service to community pharmacy practice, the Wendell T. Hill Award from the Association of Black Health-Systems Pharmacists, the Chaucey I. Cooper Award from the National Pharmaceutical Association, and recipient of the 2015 Georgia Pharmacy Association Larry L. Braden Meritorious Service Award as an outstanding leader in pharmacy who has influenced the pharmacy profession in Georgia.

He has served as President of the National Pharmaceutical Association as well as Founder and Chairman of the Board of Directors of the National Pharmaceutical Association Foundation (NPhAF). Since the inception of the NPhAF in 2000, the Foundation has awarded over 289 scholarships and over 75 book awards, totaling more than $350,000 awarded to undeserved pharmacy students, strictly on merit base. In addition NPhAF has given more than $500,000 to pharmacists and pharmacy students for continuing education support. He serves on several editorial boards of scientific publications, has over 100 publications, given more than 300 national and international presentations, and been awarded over $2 million in research grants and contracts.

Dr. Matthews received a BS in chemistry from Clark Atlanta University and a B.S. in pharmacy from Mercer University. He received his MS and PhD in pharmaceutical biochemistry from the University of Wisconsin-Madison where he was a National Institutes of Health Pre-Doctoral Fellow and a Fellow of the American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education. Matthews also received the Rennebohm Teaching Assistant Award as a graduate student at the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Pharmacy. He did his postdoctoral work at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.