2012 UW Honorary Citation Report – Mahaney

Citation recipient Lynnae Mahaney with Dean Jeanette Roberts

Citation recipient Lynnae Mahaney (left) with Dean Jeanette Roberts (right)

Lynnae Mahaney graduated from the UW School of Pharmacy with her BS in 1982 and then furthered her education at the UW-Milwaukee School of Business, earning her MBA in 1990. Lynnae started her professional career at Methodist Hospital here in Madison as a staff pharmacist. Methodist eventually became part of the Meriter Hospital organization, and Lynnae was promoted to Pharmacy Supervisor in 1986 and to Manager of Operations in 1988. In 1991, Lynnae became the Director of Pharmacy at Bellin Hospital in Green Bay and subsequently joined the University of Wisconsin Medical Foundation as Director of Pharmacy of their six retail pharmacies. In 1999, Lynnae became the Chief of Pharmacy Service at the William S. Middleton Memorial Veterans Hospital in Madison, where she was responsible for the comprehensive pharmacy services for over 35,000 veterans, several pharmacy residency programs, and what must be thousands of UW student pharmacists on rotation there.

A couple years ago, Lynnae took on the position of Vice President for Hospital and Health Systems Services for Visante, Inc., a Minneapolis-based company founded by UW School of Pharmacy alum and Board of Visitors chair, Mike Flagstad. Much of her expertise involves practice model changes in both clinic and hospital settings, and she has gained a national and international reputation for the advancement and evolution of pharmacist roles and responsibilities. She continues to pursue her interest in global healthcare issues through the expansion of Visante’s International Practice. She also continues to serve the VA pharmacy community as Program Manager.

Lynnae has always been active in professional pharmacy organizations. Locally, she participated extensively in the Wisconsin Society of Health System Pharmacists and received their President’s Award in 1995. After creation of the Pharmacy Society of Wisconsin, Lynnae served on the Board of Directors and received PSW’s Pharmacist of the Year Award in 2004. Nationally, she has participated in a wide variety of activities and as a member several committees and councils for the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists and was elected an ASHP Fellow in 2000.  She has served on the Board of Directors since 2004. In 2010, Lynnae was elected President of ASHP and brought her voice and influence to that position with her usual vision and enthusiasm. In 2011, she was installed as the Board Chair of ASHP’s Research and Education Foundation.