2002 UW Honorary Citation Report – Connors

UW Citations recognized outstanding alumni Kenneth Connors Ruth Havemeyer, Vincent Lee, and John Bohlman. They were presented by Dean Mel Weinswig

UW Citations recognized outstanding alumni Kenneth Connors (2nd from L.),
Ruth Havemeyer, Vincent Lee, and John Bohlman. They were
presented by Dean Mel Weinswig (L.)

Dr. Ken Connors has faithfully served the University of Wisconsin School of Pharmacy for over forty years. He came to the school in the mid-1950s, following his undergraduate degree at the University of Connecticut. In 1957 he graduated with his MS in Pharmacy, and in 1959, he achieved his doctor of philosophy in pharmacy with a major in pharmaceutical analysis. Dr. Connors’ graduate work and research was done under the direction of the legendary Takeru Higuchi. Afterwards, Ken did post-doctoral work at the Illinois Institute of Technology and Northwestern University. Ken returned to Madison in 1962 to stay, as a full-time faculty member.

His research career at Wisconsin focused on organic analytical reactions, their catalysis, mechanisms, and applications, and on kinetic methods for the analysis of mixtures and the chemistry of molecular complexes. His productivity here is somewhat reflected in the following numbers: author or co-author for 89 published research articles, author or co-author of nine textbooks, theses and dissertation supervision of more than 40 graduate students, and more than 30 other published reviews and other published educational contributions. He received the Justin L. Powers Research Achievement Award in Pharmaceutical Analysis in 1980 from the Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences. He has served on the editorial board of the International Journal of Pharmaceutics, the Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences, and the Journal of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Analysis in terms stretching from 1978 to 2002. A member of a number of professional associations, Ken has been honored as an elected fellow of the Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences (1972), the American Association for the Advancement of Science (1981), and the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (1986).

Ken served the school administratively in several capacities–as an assistant dean for graduate studies (1968-72), as associate dean (1975-76), and as interim dean from 1991 to 1993. His leadership on the school’s building committee was a key driving force in achieving the creation of Rennebohm Hall, and he was intimately involved in the planning of what our new school would look like. Ken’s teaching also brought distinguished invitations–such as service to his alma mater as the Centennial Lecturer at the University of Connecticut’s School of Pharmacy in 1981. In teaching awards begun here in 1985, Ken was named the Teacher of the Year three years prior to his retirement in 1997, with the pinnacle of his teaching talents recognized in 1995 by the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, when he was named a Distinguished Pharmacy Educator.