2001 UW Honorary Citation Report – Sinkula

Citation recipients Anthony Sinkula, Bruce Scott, Erwin Dohmen, and Cindy Benning with Dean Mel Weinswig.

Citation recipients (left to right) Anthony Sinkula, Bruce Scott,
Erwin Dohmen, and Cindy Benning with Dean Mel Weinswig.

Tony Sinkula completed a BS Pharmacy degree at the UW in 1959, and then left for The Ohio State University, where he received his MS and PhD in organic medicinal chemistry in 1961 and 1963, respectively. The next thirty years of his career were spent with the Upjohn company, first as a research scientist, and then moving through the ranks to Director of Corporate Research Planning. Upon his retirement from Upjohn, he served as a consultant and expert witness to the pharmaceutical industry. He is currently Vice President and Chief Scientific Officer for West Pharmaceutical Services of Lionville, Pennsylvania.

Tony has served pharmacy and the pharmaceutical sciences as president and founding member of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists; as Chairman of the Pharmaceutical Development Subsection of the Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA), and as a member of the Pharmaceutics Advisory Committee of the PhRMA Foundation. He is also a member of the Editorial Advisory Board of Pharmaceutical Research. He has been a member of our Board of Visitors since 1996, and serves in a similar capacity with the Colleges of Pharmacy at both Ohio State and the University of Illinois. He was a Visiting Professor at the Royal Danish School of Pharmacy in Copenhagen from 1993-1996, and is currently a consultant to the National Cancer Institute.

Tony received the Upjohn Award for Distinguished Service from the Royal Danish School of Pharmacy, in recognition of his scientific contributions to pharmaceutical science and his pioneering research in the fields of prodrug chemistry and biology. He is a Fellow of the National Institutes of Mental Health and of AAPS, and was awarded the Jack Beal Postbaccalaureate Award by the Ohio State University College of Pharmacy, for distinguished service to the pharmaceutical sciences and the professional practice of Pharmacy. He was also recognized by AAPS last year with the its Past President’s Award, for 30 years of commitment and dedication to that organization.