2001 UW Honorary Citation Report – Scott

Citation recipients Anthony Sinkula, Bruce Scott, Erwin Dohmen, and Cindy Benning with Dean Mel Weinswig.

Citation recipients (left to right) Anthony Sinkula, Bruce Scott,
Erwin Dohmen, and Cindy Benning with Dean Mel Weinswig.

Bruce Scott is a 1979 graduate of the School of Pharmacy. He obtained a Masters degree in Pharmacy Practice from the University of Kansas, where he also completed a residency. Bruce is currently Vice President of Resource Management for Allina Hospitals and Clinics in Minneapolis. His career has also included positions as Assistant Director of Pharmacy at the University of Kansas Medical Center, Director of Pharmacy and Vice President of Operations at United Hospital in St. Paul, and most recently, Vice President of Pharmacy Operations for Allina. He also holds an appointment as Clinical Assistant Professor at the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy.

Bruce has been recognized as a Fellow in the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. He received the Hallie Bruce Memorial Lecture Award from the Minnesota Society of Health System Pharmacists and the John Webb Lecture Award from Northeastern University College of Pharmacy, both for sustained contributions to the pharmacy profession in Minnesota. Bruce has played an active role in professional organizations, most recently as President of the American Society of Health System Pharmacists, and as a member of its Board of Directors. He was a member of the Task Force of the Scope of Pharmacy Practice Project, and is a founding member of the National Academy of Practice in Pharmacy. He was also president of the Minnesota Society of Hospital Pharmacists. Bruce has a special interest in issues regarding leadership in health care, the integration of pharmacy practice into health care delivery systems, and patient safety. He has published several articles and chapters, and has given many national and international presentations on various topics in health care.