AIHP Awards Program Information

The American Institute of the History of Pharmacy invites your recommendation of candidates for consideration in its annual awards program. Three types of recognition are conferred upon those who have made a creative and competent contribution in the field of pharmaceutical history.

1. The George Urdang Medal

This medal is awarded for an original and scholarly publication, or a single series of interrelated publications, appearing anywhere in the world and pertaining primarily to historical or historico-social aspects of pharmacy (including the history of the materia medica). Evaluation is based on the competence of the research and on the skill of interpretation and presentation.

2. The Edward Kremers Award

This award is conferred on the same basis as the Urdang Medal (above) except that the candidates must be citizens of the United States. (The Urdang Medal competition, in contrast, is world-wide, although including the United States.)

3. The Certificate of Commendation

This certificate, granted both to individuals and to organizations, recognizes those who contribute significantly to the understanding and development of pharmacy through any type of historical project or program in local or regional history. Several Certificates of Commendation may be authorized in a given year if the candidates have attained an appropriate quality and distinctiveness of achievement. Historical writing is one of many types of historical activity eligible for consideration, whereas distinguished historical writing is the sole basis for eligibility in the national and international competitions above.

Nomination Forms

A nomination form for each of the three categories of awards may be completed by anyone. If additional copies of a form are needed, photocopies or typed duplicates are acceptable. The forms are intentionally brief, and limited to the essential information directly related to the purpose for which an award has been authorized. (Extended biographical information or testimonial statements are not solicited, since the AIHP does not presently have an award recognizing cumulated career contributions.)

  1. Urdang Award
  2. Kremers Award
  3. Certificate of Commendation


Completed nomination forms may be submitted an any time, but must be received before October 1 to be included in this year’s competition. Nominations received thereafter will be considered in the following year’s competition.

Nominations Automatically Renewed

If a candidate is at first unsuccessful, he will be considered also in two subsequent years. Eventually an unsuccessful candidate will be either dropped from consideration or transferred to an award category where the prospect may be more promising.